I Went Viral On Tik Tok. Here's What I Learned

Marketing For The Tribe #013

I went viral on Tik Tok for the first time ever.

I produced a piece of content that amassed 1.2 Million views in less than 3 days (and keeps growing by the day).

In doing so, I learned a few things that I think would be helpful for every creator trying to market and promote anything online.

I’ll share them all in this post.

Let’s begin.

My name is Nick Tribe and I’m a DJ, marketer, and entrepreneur.

I’ve spent the last few years studying from the most successful marketers & entrepreneurs worldwide.

I’ve read countless books, attended countless courses, and devoured countless pieces of information on marketing and entrepreneurship.

I’m now building a marketing company that starts, grows, and monetize brands leveraging AI, direct response marketing, and sales funnels.

Join me and follow along as I learn, apply, and share marketing insights to build my million-dollar business.

Attention.

Marketers can’t live without it.

That’s why some people call it the currency of the digital age.

It’s simply the most precious commodity that marketers crave above all else.

And for a good reason.

Capturing your target audience's attention is the first step to selling anything.

We can't hope to generate sales without attention from the people who are supposed to give us their money.

No attention leads to no sales.

No sales leads to no money.

No money leads to no business.

No bueno.

Now...

Since you are reading this post, I assume you want to turn strangers into paying customers online.

If that's so...

I also assume you know that making content is one of the best ways to get eyeballs on your stuff.

If my assumptions are correct, keep reading.

Because I'm about to share my best lessons from this viral video.

And how you can use them to get more attention, leads, and sales for your business.

Here they are.

Lesson #1 — The Biggest Metric To Go Viral

The biggest metric behind virality is not what you might think it is.

People usually think likes, comments, or any of the typical engagement metrics.

That's how you 'please the algo', they say.

This approach may be cool to create content or sell a course.

But, that's not the main reason why stuff goes viral.

So, what is the biggest metric to look out for when it comes to vitality?

It's the "share" button.

Everyone talks about time-spent consuming the content, likes or comments as key metric.

That's cool. But that's not what drives virality.

These actions state surface-level engagement.

It's one thing to like something.

It's a completely different thing to share that content with your friends, family, or followers.

It's the act of sharing that truly amplifies the reach and impact of the content.

It makes sense.

Think about it.

When someone shares your video with their network...

You basically multiply eyeballs.

You gain one viewer, that in return generates countless more.

It begins the process of amplifying the eyeballs you get.

So if one viewer gets you 2 or 3…

The ‘algo’ sees that as a good sign that this content might be a good one.

And your views will grow as a result.

When people share your stuff, they are essentially endorsing your content.

In a way, they're putting their reputation on the line by recommending it to others.

That's why it's so powerful. That’s why the ‘algo’ likes it.

Using the share button can greatly boost your content's visibility. It lets it spread wildly across social media and beyond.

So here's the first lesson.

When crafting your content, don't aim for likes and comments—aim for shares.

Think:

What would make my audience want to SHARE this with their audience / friends / people etc.?

That's the key metric to go viral.

Lesson #2— Relatable Is The Key

The viral video I created was a meme.

Do memes work?

Yes.

Do all memes work?

No.

I created many more that didn’t hit the mark like the viral one.

Why?

There are many factors that need to be taken into consideration.

There is not enough space in this post to cover them all.

And most of that would be pure speculation.

The truth is that any social media gorooo that claims that he can get viral every time…

He’s either lying or trying to sell you something.

That’s just my 2 cents, of course.

But anyways.

With all of that being said…

I believe there is one key factor that determines whether something will work or not when it comes to going viral.

Relatability.

The lesson could be summarized as the folllowing.

Being relatable beats being creative every time.

When I stumbled upon the idea for my viral video, I didn't set out to reinvent the wheel.

I focused on creating content that resonated with my audience on a deeply personal level.

Less 'creative', more relatable.

Again, the key-word here is "Relatability".

You want your audience to see your piece of content and thinking:

"Hey, that's me".

Or

"Hey, that's [insert name of a friend]".

Or

"Hey, this is exactly what is going on in my mind".

As famous marketer Robert Collier said.

You need to enter the conversation already taking place in the customer's mind." 

Robert Collier

To check how well a piece of content is doing when it comes to relatability, check the comments section.

If people are tagging others and commenting stuff like 'me lol', the content is working.

Tapping into emotions that people universally experience is the secret sauce for viral success.

We're more likely to share content that makes us feel understood and connected to others.

Focus on that the next time you’re creating something.

Lesson #3— Content > Packaging

This lesson is crucial. Especially if you believe that you need flashy editing for your content.

This case study proves that the content idea matters more than packaging.

Now, I get it.

Today it's easy to get caught up in believing that you need crazy editing and post-production stuff to get attention.

But this viral video taught me that the ‘raw’ content is still what matters most.

Sure, slick editing and eye-catching visuals can enhance the viewing experience.

But at the end of the day, it's what's inside that truly matters.

Being real, funny, and telling true stories are much better than fancy graphics or gimmicky effects.

So, focus on creating content that people genuinely want to watch.

Worry less about the editing and fancy stuff.

The rest will fall into place.

Lesson #4— Insert a CTA

Final key-lesson I learned this from my viral video: the importance of a Call To Action (CTA).

In my case, I added a simple "follow for more" to the video. This led to hundreds of new followers coming to my account.

Would the followers came even without the CTA?

Maybe, maybe not.

The video went viral anyway and gained attention.

But why risking?

If you insert a CTA in your pieces of content, you ensure leverage if something gets shared a lot or get attention in general.

After all, you never know which piece of content might strike a chord with viewers and go viral.

A clear CTA gives viewers a direct path to engage with your content.

You can move people into the next step of your funnel.

Maybe it’s a follow.

Maybe it’s a DM.

Maybe it’s to check the link in bio.

Whatever that is, a clear CTA drives growth and engagement on your social media channels.

So make sure you include a CTA in your pieces of content.

It might be a simple 'follow for more' like I did.

Or something more specific regarding your strategy, funnel, etc.

So here’s the recap.

Lesson 1 is about the biggest metric if you want to go viral: the share button.

Lesson 2 is about the most important factor to consider: relatability.

Lesson 3 is about understanding that fancy editing won’t save your content if your idea isn’t resonating with your target audience.

Lesson 4 is about leveraging the power of a CTA (Call To Action) to make the most out of your content creation efforts.

There you have them.

I hope you remember these lessons when you create your next piece of content.

Who knows?

You might just be the next sensation to take the internet by storm.

And get some leads and sales as a result.

Hope this brought value to you.

Talk soon,

Nick